Go directly to content

Municipal responsibility

Municipalities shall ensure the necessary preparedness against acute pollution that may occur or cause harmful effects within the municipality, and which is not covered by private emergency preparedness. Read more about the municipalities' responsibilities here.

If the responsible polluter is unknown, does not implement measures or does not implement sufficient measures, the municipality has a duty to take action. This applies to all discharges in the municipality, regardless of extent, and also applies to acute pollution that occurs outside the municipality, but causes harmful effects within the municipality.

The obligation to implement measures only applies to measures that are in reasonable proportion to damages and inconveniences that are to be avoided.

IUA regions

The municipal emergency preparedness is divided into emergency preparedness regions, IUA. In Norway we have the following emergency regions:

  • Aust-Agder
  • Bergen
  • Region 4 (tidl. Buskerud, Sande og Svelvik)
  • Haugesund
  • Hedmark
  • Helgeland
  • Indre Oslofjord
  • Inn-Trøndelag
  • Lofoten og Vesterålen
  • Midt-Agder
  • Midt-Finnmark
  • Midt- og Nord-Troms
  • Namdal
  • Nordfjord
  • Nordmøre
  • Ofoten
  • Oppland
  • Rana
  • Romerike
  • Romsdal
  • Salten
  • Sogn og Sunnfjord
  • Sunnmøre
  • Sør-Rogaland
  • Sør-Troms
  • Sør-Trøndelag
  • Telemark
  • UA Svalbard
  • Vest-Agder
  • Vest-Finnmark
  • Vestfold
  • Øst-Finnmark
  • Østfold

Contact information IUAs

IUA kontaktinformasjon

Andre dokumenter Published Updated



Lill Veronika Benjaminsen /
Go to top